RSS Feed

I Can’t Believe She Actually Ate My Risotto…

Posted on

Such a victory in a Mum’s day when her wee one not only eats, but enjoys what she makes her for dinner – well a victory in my day anyways!

Last night I made a vegan miso/pea/kale/mushroom/quinoa risotto… so good, and a a big hit with my 2 biggest critics (T & A)!!

mmmmm

mmmmm

Miso.Pea.Kale.Mushroom.Quinoa.GREEN.Risotto

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup arborio rice
  • 1/2 cup rinsed quinoa
  • 4 1/2 cups water
  • 1/3 cup white miso paste
  • couple handfuls each of mushrooms, kale & peas (you decide how much, I loaded it up!)

In a large pan I did a water saute with the onions, once cooked down a bit I added the garlic and stirred for a few minutes on medium heat.

In a medium pot I brought the water and miso paste to a boil (this is the difference to the traditional veggie/chicken broth usually added to risotto). Once it boiled, I turned down on to a low heat.

I then added the rice and quinoa to the onion and garlic – mixed well, followed by 1/2 cup of the miso broth.

This is where the traditional risotto making comes in – add 1/2 cup of broth at a time until it has all been absorbed. I do a combination of mixing and letting sit (but always watching). Generally constant mixing is recommended, however I have found in my many attempts that watching closely (while balancing a toddler on your hip) and giving a few good stirs is plenty while the liquid is being absorbed. Just make sure the heat is not too high, a good medium heat is fine.

Once I have added about 1 cup of broth, I put in the mushrooms (chopped) and gave another stir. When all of the broth has been added, I turn off the heat and toss in finely chopped kale (big chunks can make my toddler think too much about chewing and turn the focus on spitting it out!!) and peas. The kale wilts nicely!

Stir well and serve immediately! So delicious and there is no cheese/cream needed, seriously! The miso makes it so creamy and tangy, you would think I snuck some in somewhere… but no!!

**Variations** Next time I am going to try brown rice in place of the arborio rice (to “up” the health factor). You could add spinach, zucchini, broad beans, pistachios/walnuts/pecans… whatever you like really.

Asha ate her good sized portion, dug into mine and then went on to Troy’s (he had no say in the matter as he was doing a Home Open!). I was so happy that my Beans ate so well and really enjoyed it too!

Give it a go – easy, nutritious and yummy 🙂

yummy

yummy

One response »

  1. I could go for that. Ahhhhhh isn’t she adorable that “Beans”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

