RSS Feed

No Egg In This NOG…

Posted on

I have been meaning to make this the last few days over the holidays, but time got the best of me… until tonight! I cracked open a coconut (my best aim yet!) and got into it! I have come across a few different vegan recipes, but as you may know I like to make things my own and change ingredients up some, particularly using little to no sweeteners aside from fruit. And frankly the thought of raw eggs frightens me!

This came out so creamy and seriously tasted like a traditional Egg Nog – I know, as I have had my share in many Christmas pasts! Even if you are a hard core NOG fan, give this a try, your health and waist will thank you! Here it is…

No Egg in this NOG

NOG

NOG

  • flesh & water from 1 fresh coconut (watch this video from Girl On Raw to open!)
  • 1 1/2 frozen bananas
  • 4 brazil nuts (soaked)**
  • 1/2 cup filtered water**
  • splash of vanilla
  • tiniest pinch of cloves (very strong so use sparingly!)
  • dash of nutmeg (to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (to taste)
  • 1/2 tray of ice (use as much as you need to make creamy)

Blend, taste and adjust spices and then serve in a fancy glass with cinnamon to garnish! I did not think it needed any extra sweetness, however if you feel it does, add a few soaked dates (check for stones before blending!), or a splash of maple syrup to sweeten. If you want even more creaminess, add half an avocado!

** You can use 1/2 cup nut milk, that is what I would have done however I did not have any made up!

NOG close up

NOG close up

Forget waiting until December to blend this beauty, I will be making this one all year round. Hope you enjoy this as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

